The Firm of
Cowan | Goudreau

Cowan | Goudreau Architects was formed as a partnership of DC Designs Architects, founded in 1990 and Goudreau & Associates Architects established in 2002. Duene Cowan and Gary Goudreau, are both registered architects practicing in New Hampshire for the past 30 years. The firm of Cowan Goudreau Architects PLLC brings together the combined talents of its two experienced principals & the quality of their combined body of work.

Any project that CGA takes on always has the direct attention of one of the two principals, a distinct advantage for high profile designs, smaller quick moving projects as well as those requiring specialized design or high performance detailing.


Duene Cowan


Has been practicing Architecture since 1986 and founded the firm of DC Designs Architects in 1990. A graduate of Syracuse University with a Master of Architecture degree, Duene is the recipient of the NH Governors Citation for Excellence in Design, NH AIA HONOR AWARD for Excellence in Architecture, NH AIA Excellence in Architecture Citation Award and the Governors Excellence in Energy Efficiency award for the Beverly D Grappone Hall, the first state of NH owned LEED certified building. Duene is the designer of the Concord Clock Tower. He served on the Concord Design Review Committee for twenty years and continues to serve on the Code appeals Board.  Recognized by the Boy Scouts of America Wannalancit district as CubMaster of the year as well as Scout Master of the year.


Gary L. Goudreau


A graduate of the University of Maryland School of Architecture in 1980, Gary established Goudreau & Associates Architects in 2002. As Senior project Manager Gary managed several projects which received the Plan NH Merit Award for Design Excellence for the Verizon Wireless Arena and the NH AIA Award for Design Excellence, Rhodes Hall, Keene State College. Gary has served as a plan NH member, Derry Main Street Corporation, Board of Directors, American Institute of Architects (current member), NH Chapter AIA, Board of Directors and is currently a committee member of the Building & Grounds board of The Derryfield School, Manchester, NH.